“Prime” BEAUTY TIP


High Quality Brushes Need Priming

High quality brushes require "priming" at first, then they last for years.

IMNatural received this feedback about a week ago:

I just purchased my foundation and also purchased a new Kabuki Brush.  The brush is shedding when I try to apply make up.  It leaves little “hairs” all over my face.  Is there a way to remedy this problem?

Jody Cranford’s response:

“The Kabuki Brushes usually need to be “Primed” for the first few uses.

I’ve been using my same Kabuki for so long that I sometimes forget about the need to prime…which gives me an idea for the next Naked Minerals tip on the blog!!

The Kabuki’s are handmade. With all hand-made brushes, there is a tendency in the very beginning to lose hairs until the loose ones are all gone.  This is normal – do not panic! This is actually a sign of a high quality makeup brushNaked Minerals advises to “swirl brush vigorously in palm of hand several times prior to application. Repeat daily until loose hairs stop coming out, it will only take a few times”

Here’s my technique. I rub in circles into my palm as hard as I can to get the loose ones out.   You can hold a clean cloth and burnish your new brush on that to help your Kabuki Brush to shed it’s initial loose hairs faster.

If you “Prime” your brush by removing those loose hairs at the beginning, you can expect your brush to last you a very long time. I’ve been using my same Kabuki since June of 2007!!!

If you continue to have problems after this process, please let me know. I’ve not had one yet, but there’s always a chance of a bad “apple” in the batch.  If that’s the case, we’ll certainly send you a replacement.

Thank you again for connecting on this topic…watch for more in upcoming tips!!!”

PS – Here’s our link to our SPRING SPECIALS on NAKED Minerals™ products

Another bit of brush knowledge from NAKED Minerals™

“To maintain your beautiful brushes they need to be cleaned periodically.
You can shampoo with mild hand soap, shampoo, or dish soap. Rinse thoroughly. Reshape and let dry in up right position over night. To speed up drying process you can blow dry.

“Another common cleaning method is Professional Instant Brush Cleaner. Usually found at any quality beauty supply store. Simply spray brush with cleaner and wipe onto paper towel (or regular towel/ suggest dark color only). Do not use tissue it will dissolve and leave little white fuzzies everywhere. Repeat until brush is clean. Cleaner dries almost instantly. This technique is quicker but note that most pro brush cleaners are very strong scented some even have carcinogenic ingredients. Be sure to read your label.

Have a naturally fabulous week,

Jody Cranford, CEO of IMNatural.com

SPRING SPECIALS on NAKED Minerals™

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Beauty

Leave a comment